Psychology Department

Prof. P. S.

Head of Psychology Department

Read more

Psychology Department: Kumaun University

Department of Psychology at Kumaun University Campus Nainital came into being in 1951, with the setting up of the DSB Government College (Now a Campus of Kumaun University). However, the department of Economics at Kumaun University Campus Almora started functioning much earlier. The Department ever since its inception, has had the distinction of being associated with teachers of illustrious career and extra ordinary academic background. The founder head of the department Dr. S. G. Tewari was a National Income Accounting expert in the UNO team before joining the department. Later he was taken as Chief of National Income Unit of Planning Commission. The persons he who followed him in the chair excelled in their own ways. Dr. K. N. Srivastava, a veteran Labour Economist, Dr. Maya Ram, a great Public Finance theoretician, Dr. K. D. Upadhyay, an exponent of Economic Theory and Dr. P. P. Elhance was a teacher of Statistical Analysis par excellence. All of these academicians nourished and reared up the department from its infancy to mature adulthood.